DwellDelta Tools

Every area page · Six states, New Zealand, and ABS data for three more

How to read these figures

Every area page shows medians from one state's open data, or New Zealand's; the pages for the Australian Capital Territory and the Northern Territory, and Tasmania's ABS page, show ABS data instead, of other kinds and periods. What they all share is said once, here: what the figures are and are not, how each page compares its place within its state, which pages rest on small samples, and each file's source, licence, what DwellDelta changed and every limit it states.

Straight about the data

What every figure is, and is not

How each page compares its place

Pages on small samples

A page whose every figure rests on a small sample, by its file's own small_sample flag, asks search engines not to index it. It is on this site with every figure and caution, and listed on its state's page. In this build:

New South Wales

Rents

© State of New South Wales (Department of Communities and Justice), Rent and Sales Report, rent tables, June 2026 quarter. Licensed under CC BY 4.0: https://dcj.nsw.gov.au/statements/copyright-and-disclaimer.html

What DwellDelta changed: Selected by DwellDelta from DCJ's rent tables: the all-dwellings, all-bedrooms row for each postcode, council and region. No figure is altered. DCJ's marks are shown as fields: 'withheld' where it reports nothing, 'new_bonds_band' where it withholds the count.

The file: nsw-rents.json

The 7 limits this file states
  • Medians of NEW bonds lodged in the quarter - not advertised rents, and not what sitting tenants pay.
  • A median moves with the mix of homes let: a change can be new apartments or a different mix of homes, not rents rising for the same homes.
  • All dwellings and all sizes together: a postcode of one-bedroom flats and a postcode of houses are not like for like.
  • For confidentiality DCJ reports nothing where 10 or fewer new bonds were lodged (the median is null and 'withheld' says so) and withholds the count where 10 to 30 were lodged, asking that those figures be treated with caution, most of all their quarterly and annual changes. Both are flagged small_sample.
  • change_pct is DCJ's own annual change in the median. Postcodes follow the ABS geography DCJ uses.
  • DwellDelta is not connected with, sponsored by or endorsed by the State of New South Wales.
  • Information, not financial or tenancy advice.

Rents by dwelling type

© State of New South Wales (Department of Communities and Justice), Rent and Sales Report, rent tables, June 2026 quarter. Licensed under CC BY 4.0: https://dcj.nsw.gov.au/statements/copyright-and-disclaimer.html

What DwellDelta changed: Selected by DwellDelta from DCJ's rent tables: every dwelling type and bedroom combination for which DCJ reports a median, for each postcode, council and region. No figure is altered. Combinations DCJ reports nothing for are left out (see absent_means). DCJ's withheld count is shown as 'new_bonds_band'.

The file: nsw-rents-by-type.json

The 7 limits this file states
  • Medians of NEW bonds lodged in the quarter - not advertised rents, and not what sitting tenants pay.
  • The narrower the group, the fewer the bonds. Many figures here rest on 10 to 30 new bonds, where DCJ withholds the count and asks that the figure be treated with caution, most of all its quarterly and annual change: check small_sample before quoting, and prefer the council's figure where the postcode's is a small sample.
  • A figure is the median for that dwelling type and size among the bonds lodged, not the rent of any one home, and it still moves with the mix: newer or larger homes of the same type let in one quarter than the last.
  • A combination that is absent has no published median (DCJ reports nothing for 10 or fewer new bonds). Do not fill it from a neighbour, a wider group or an earlier quarter without saying so.
  • change_pct is DCJ's own annual change in the median. Postcodes follow the ABS geography DCJ uses, and a postcode is not a suburb.
  • DwellDelta is not connected with, sponsored by or endorsed by the State of New South Wales.
  • Information, not financial or tenancy advice.

A combination that is not listed has no published median: DCJ reported nothing for it (10 or fewer new bonds), or its table has no row for it. It is never zero, and never 'no homes'. Labels: DCJ's own. Dwelling type: House, Townhouse, Flat/Unit, Other, and Total (all dwellings). Bedrooms: Bedsitter, 1 Bedroom, 2 Bedrooms, 3 Bedrooms, 4 or more Bedrooms, Not Specified, and Total (all sizes). breakdown[dwelling type][bedrooms] is one figure; Total / Total is the all-dwellings figure of the main feed.

Sale prices

© State of New South Wales (Department of Communities and Justice), Rent and Sales Report, sales tables, March 2026 quarter. Licensed under CC BY 4.0: https://dcj.nsw.gov.au/statements/copyright-and-disclaimer.html

What DwellDelta changed: Selected by DwellDelta from DCJ's sales tables: the median, the first and third quartiles, the number of sales and the annual change in the median, for each postcode, council and region, by dwelling type. No figure is altered and prices stay in thousands of dollars. DCJ's mean price and its quarterly changes are left out. DCJ's marks are shown as fields: 'withheld' where it reports nothing, 'sales_band' where it withholds the count. One field is DwellDelta's own: 'unusual_prices' marks a row whose median equals a quartile, or whose third quartile is more than 3 times its median. It is a mark on DCJ's figure, not a correction of it.

The file: nsw-sales.json

The 9 limits this file states
  • Medians of the dwellings SOLD in the quarter, dated by contract - not asking prices, not valuations, and not the price or value of any one home.
  • A median moves with the mix of homes sold: a change can be more units or more large houses sold, not prices rising for the same homes. Use the strata or non-strata row, not the total, to compare like with like.
  • A few very large sales, or many sales at one identical price - a whole block or a development site sold at once - can set a postcode's median or quartile on their own, whatever the number of sales. Rows where that shows are marked unusual_prices; do not quote a marked row, or any very large annual change, as the going price of a home there.
  • DCJ reports a quarter three months after it ends, when on average about 80% of its contracted sales have been notified: the sales counts are incomplete. DCJ says the medians do not differ significantly for most councils once more sales arrive.
  • For confidentiality DCJ reports nothing where 10 or fewer dwellings sold (the median is null and 'withheld' says so) and withholds the count where 10 to 30 sold, asking that those figures be treated with caution, most of all their quarterly and annual changes. Both are flagged small_sample. A null dwelling type means DCJ's table has no row for it in that area.
  • DCJ leaves out the lowest and highest 5% of sale prices in each council: it says this does not affect a council's median, moves the quartiles slightly toward it, and has a less predictable effect on larger areas.
  • change_pct is DCJ's own annual change in the median. Postcodes follow the ABS geography DCJ uses, and a postcode is not a suburb.
  • DwellDelta is not connected with, sponsored by or endorsed by the State of New South Wales.
  • Information, not financial advice and not a valuation.

Non-strata and strata, as DCJ uses them: non-strata title: separate houses, and any multi-unit dwelling on Torrens title; strata title: town houses, terraces, villas, flats and units.

Suburb names: Contains NSW Government data © NSW Department of Customer Service (Spatial Services), CC BY 3.0 AU.

Every New South Wales area

Victoria

Rents

Source: Homes Victoria, Rental Report, licensed under CC BY 4.0

The file: vic-rents.json

The 4 limits this file states
  • Medians of NEW leases (bonds lodged) begun in the 12 months to the quarter - not advertised rents, and not what sitting tenants pay.
  • A median moves with the mix of homes let: a suburb group's change can be new apartments or a different mix, not rents rising for the same homes.
  • Suburb groups are Homes Victoria's, not single suburbs; rows flagged small_sample rest on fewer than 100 leases.
  • Information, not financial or tenancy advice.

Every Victoria area

Queensland

Rents

© The State of Queensland (Residential Tenancies Authority) 2026, median rents quarterly data, September 2026 quarter. Licensed under CC BY 4.0.

What DwellDelta changed: Selected by DwellDelta from the RTA workbook: the 'All dwellings' row for each suburb, council and Queensland. No RTA figure is altered. change_pct is calculated by DwellDelta from the RTA's two medians (this quarter against the same quarter a year before).

The file: qld-rents.json

The 6 limits this file states
  • Medians of NEW bonds lodged with the RTA in the quarter (new tenancies) - not advertised rents, and not what sitting tenants pay.
  • A median moves with the mix of homes let: a change can be new apartments or a different mix of homes, not rents rising for the same homes.
  • All dwellings and all sizes together: a suburb of units and a suburb of houses are not like for like. 'All dwellings' takes in rooming accommodation as well as flats, houses and town houses: for Queensland as a whole, 6,519 of its 59,071 new bonds are under the RTA's label 'Rooming Accommodation' (median $395 a week, against $670 for 'General Tenancies'). The workbook gives that split for the state only. Where many rooms are let, a suburb's all-dwellings median can sit far below what a flat or a house rents for there, and its change on a year can be a change in that mix: check the suburb's flats and houses in the companion file of rents by dwelling type, published beside this one, and where the all-dwellings figure is far below them do not quote it as a typical rent.
  • Null where the RTA published no median (too few bonds); rows resting on fewer than 30 new bonds are flagged small_sample.
  • Suburb and council names are the RTA's own, e.g. "Brisbane (C)". change_pct is DwellDelta's calculation, not the RTA's.
  • Information, not financial or tenancy advice.

Rents by dwelling type

© The State of Queensland (Residential Tenancies Authority) 2026, median rents quarterly data, September 2026 quarter. Licensed under CC BY 4.0.

What DwellDelta changed: Selected by DwellDelta from the RTA workbook: every dwelling label for which the RTA publishes a median, for each suburb, council and Queensland. No RTA figure is altered. change_pct is calculated by DwellDelta from the RTA's two medians (this quarter against the same quarter a year before). Labels with no median are left out (see absent_means).

The file: qld-rents-by-type.json

The 8 limits this file states
  • Medians of NEW bonds lodged with the RTA in the quarter (new tenancies) - not advertised rents, and not what sitting tenants pay.
  • The narrower the group, the fewer the bonds. Rows resting on fewer than 30 new bonds are flagged small_sample: check it before quoting, and prefer the council's figure where the suburb's is a small sample.
  • A figure is the median for that label among the bonds lodged, not the rent of any one home, and it still moves with the mix of homes let.
  • A label that is absent has no published median. Do not fill it from a neighbour, a wider group or an earlier quarter without saying so.
  • For a suburb or a council, 'All dwellings' is not the labels here added together: it also takes in rooming accommodation, and every letting the RTA gives no median under these labels. (For Queensland as a whole the RTA's 'General Tenancies' and 'Rooming Accommodation' do add up to it, bond for bond.) Where a suburb's all-dwellings figure sits far below its flats' and houses', quote the flats' and houses' figures, and say which label.
  • The RTA does not define its labels; reading 'Flat 2' as a two-bedroom flat or unit is DwellDelta's reading. Say 'Flat 2 (the RTA's label)' if the exact meaning matters.
  • Suburb and council names are the RTA's own, e.g. "Brisbane (C)". change_pct is DwellDelta's calculation, not the RTA's.
  • Information, not financial or tenancy advice.

A label that is not listed has no published median: the RTA published none (too few bonds). It is never zero, and never 'no homes'. Labels: The RTA's own, word for word: 'Flat 1', 'Flat 2', 'Flat 3', 'House 2', 'House 3', 'House 4', 'Townhouse 2', 'Townhouse 3', and 'All dwellings' (the main feed's figure); for Queensland as a whole it also gives 'Rooming Accommodation' and 'General Tenancies'. The RTA's workbook does not define them. DwellDelta reads the number as the count of bedrooms - a two-bedroom flat or unit, a three-bedroom house - and has not found the RTA saying so in words; other sizes, such as a one-bedroom house or a four-bedroom unit, have no label of their own. For a suburb or a council they are inside 'All dwellings' only, and so is rooming accommodation. For Queensland as a whole 'General Tenancies' and 'Rooming Accommodation' add up to 'All dwellings', bond for bond. breakdown[label] is one figure.

Every Queensland area

Western Australia

Rents

Based on WA Rental Bonds Data, © Government of Western Australia (Department of Mines, Industry Regulation and Safety) 2023, licensed under CC BY 4.0. Medians calculated by DwellDelta from the bond records; they are not the Government's figures.

What DwellDelta changed: The Government publishes one row per bond lodged (date, locality, postcode, weekly rent) and no medians. Every median, count and change here is calculated by DwellDelta from those rows (months held: 2023-03 to 2026-09).

The file: wa-rents.json

The 7 limits this file states
  • Calculated by DwellDelta, not published by the Government of Western Australia: the median weekly rent of the bonds lodged in the quarter.
  • Bonds lodged for NEW tenancies - not advertised rents, and not what sitting tenants pay.
  • A locality needs 10 bonds in the quarter for a median (null below that), and 10 in the same quarter a year before for a change; rows resting on fewer than 30 bonds are flagged small_sample.
  • The bond records carry no dwelling type or bedrooms, so every figure is all dwellings together. A median moves with the mix of homes let: a change can be new apartments or a different mix of homes, not rents rising for the same homes.
  • A locality is one suburb-sized area, named as the bond records write it: PERTH is the city-centre locality (postcode 6000), not Greater Perth - for the state use state_total.
  • Many bonds lodged at one identical rent - a large block let at a single rate - can move a locality's median on their own, in either direction. Read a locality's change beside its bond count, not alone.
  • Information, not financial or tenancy advice.

Every Western Australia area

South Australia

Rents

South Australian Housing Trust, Government of South Australia, Private Rent Report, June 2026 quarter. Licensed under CC BY 4.0, as listed by Research Data Australia.

What DwellDelta changed: Selected by DwellDelta from the Private Rent Report workbook: the all-dwellings column for each suburb and the publisher's South Australia total. No figure is altered. The publisher's '*' (1 to 5 bonds) is shown as a null count with new_bonds_range.

The file: sa-rents.json

The 10 limits this file states
  • Medians of bonds lodged in the quarter (new leases) - not advertised rents, and not what sitting tenants pay. The publisher leaves out bonds that were cancelled or unlodged.
  • A median moves with the mix of homes let: a change can be new apartments or a different mix of homes, not rents rising for the same homes.
  • All dwellings and all sizes together, including dwellings the publisher records as other or unknown: a suburb of units and a suburb of houses are not like for like.
  • Where 1 to 5 bonds were lodged the publisher shows '*' for the count: new_bonds is null, new_bonds_range says '1 to 5', and the median it shows beside it is kept but flagged small_sample, as is every row resting on fewer than 30 bonds.
  • The publisher's note says its flat and house totals are rounded to the nearest 5; every count in this file (new_bonds) is a multiple of 5, so read new_bonds as rounded.
  • No change on a year: the same quarter a year before is not held, so compared_with, year_ago_median_aud and change_pct are null.
  • Suburb names are the publisher's own. No region or council is given: the publisher's suburb groups do not add up to its own regions, so only the state total is published beside the suburbs.
  • The licence is not stated by the publisher (see licence_note).
  • DwellDelta is not connected with, sponsored by or endorsed by the Government of South Australia.
  • Information, not financial or tenancy advice.

Every South Australia area

Tasmania

Rents

Based on Department of Justice (Tasmania), Rental Bond and Rental Data, August 2026, licensed under CC BY 4.0 as listed on data.gov.au. Medians calculated by DwellDelta from the bond records; they are not the Department's figures.

What DwellDelta changed: The Department publishes one row per bond and no medians. Every median, count here is calculated by DwellDelta from the rows of the workbook's 'Active Bonds' sheet (bonds lodged in August 2026; file abs-report-august-2026.xlsx), private housing only: the 56 community housing bonds are left out. A median between two rents is given to the cent. Suburb names are the records' own, in capitals: names that differ only in capitals or spaces are one name, and no other spelling is joined or corrected.

The file: tas-rents.json

The 11 limits this file states
  • Calculated by DwellDelta, not published by the Department of Justice: the median weekly rent of the private-housing bonds lodged in the month.
  • Every private-housing bond lodged in the month is counted; the records do not say whether a bond is for a new tenancy, and DwellDelta takes a lodgement to be one. These are not advertised rents, and not what sitting tenants pay.
  • Private housing only: community housing bonds (56 in August 2026), whose rents are usually set below the market, are left out of every figure.
  • A postcode needs 10 bonds in the month for a median (null below that, with its count kept); rows resting on fewer than 30 bonds are flagged small_sample. One month is a small sample for most postcodes, and a small postcode's median can move a long way from one month to the next.
  • One month only: the same month a year before is not held, so compared_with, year_ago_median_aud and change_pct are null, and no change on a year is given.
  • All dwellings and all sizes together for a postcode: a postcode of units and a postcode of houses are not like for like. A median moves with the mix of homes let: a change can be new apartments or a different mix of homes, not rents rising for the same homes. For the state alone, state_breakdown gives the median by bedrooms and by dwelling type, in the records' own labels, listing only those with a median.
  • A postcode is not a suburb: each postcode's figures are for the whole postcode, and suburbs lists the suburb names its bonds were lodged under in the month, not every suburb in it.
  • Rents are as lodged, none corrected: a month can hold a few far above the rest, and a median is little moved by them.
  • The licence is as data.gov.au lists it, not read at source (see licence_note).
  • DwellDelta is not connected with, sponsored by or endorsed by the State of Tasmania.
  • Information, not financial or tenancy advice.

Every Tasmania area

New Zealand

Rents

Source: The Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment, Tenancy Services rental bond data (August 2026), licensed under CC BY 3.0 NZ. Selected and reformatted by DwellDelta.

Licence: Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 New Zealand (https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/nz/). MBIE asks to be credited as The Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment.

MBIE's page for these figures, with their licence and its monthly files: https://www.tenancy.govt.nz/about-tenancy-services/data-and-statistics/rental-bond-data/

What DwellDelta changed: DwellDelta keeps the latest month of MBIE's monthly files by territorial authority and region, renames the columns, and leaves out the bonds MBIE could not place. Every figure is MBIE's; none is recalculated.

The file: nz-rents.json

The 9 limits this file states
  • MBIE's figures for PRIVATE bonds for tenancies that began in the month (new tenancies with private landlords, by tenancy start date) - not advertised rents, and not what sitting tenants pay. One month only: a small area's median can move a long way from one month to the next.
  • MBIE rounds every count by fixed random rounding to base 3, and publishes nothing where fewer than 5 bonds were lodged: such a row has no figures and says withheld. Rows resting on fewer than 30 bonds are flagged small_sample.
  • MBIE says the data remain provisional while bonds move to a new system: figures may be incomplete or revised, may reflect system changes rather than underlying trends, and recent months may not be directly comparable with earlier periods. While its page says so, change_pct and year_ago_median_nzd are null (change_withheld says why).
  • The latest month can be revised the next month, as bonds lodged late are recorded (landlords have 23 working days to lodge a bond, and processing can take 10 to 15 more).
  • Rents cluster at round amounts, so a median can sit still for months and then jump NZ$10 or NZ$20. MBIE offers the geometric mean as its measure for time series, and quartiles calculated on the same basis; its files label them 'Lower Quartile Rent' and 'Upper Quartile Rent', and values such as NZ$394 suggest these are those calculated quartiles, not the 25th and 75th percentile of the rents lodged.
  • A median moves with the mix of homes let: a change can be new apartments or a different mix of homes, not rents rising for the same homes.
  • Areas are MBIE's territorial authorities (city and district councils; Auckland is the whole Auckland Council area) and regions. A bond whose address MBIE could not place is in the national figure and in no area or region: bonds_not_placed counts them for the month, and the areas add up to the country, within MBIE's rounding of each count on its own, only with them.
  • Amounts are New Zealand dollars per week (every field ending _nzd), not Australian dollars: never set them beside an Australian feed's _aud figures without converting.
  • Information, not financial or tenancy advice.

Every New Zealand council and region

Australian Capital Territory (interim, ABS data)

ABS data

Based on Australian Bureau of Statistics data. ABS data used with permission from the Australian Bureau of Statistics. Census of Population and Housing 2021, General Community Profile DataPack, Postal Areas, tables G02 and G40 (accessed 2026-09-22); Consumer Price Index, Australia (6401.0), Table 10, release sep-2026; Total Value of Dwellings (6432.0), Table 2, release jun-quarter-2026. Licensed under CC BY 4.0: https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/. www.abs.gov.au

What DwellDelta changed: Selected by DwellDelta: the G02 median weekly rent for each Australian Capital Territory postal area as the ABS publishes it (0, where the ABS gives no median, is null here), and G40's count of renting households. Calculated by DwellDelta from G40: renting households who stated their rent; the three landlord shares (census_2021_private_landlord_share_pct, census_2021_social_landlord_share_pct and census_2021_other_landlord_share_pct), each of the sum of G40's five landlord-type cells; and the two flags, mostly_not_private_rentals and small_census_sample, which are DwellDelta's own marks, not the ABS's. From CPI Table 10: the year change and the change since the series began, calculated from the ABS's index. From Total Value of Dwellings Table 2: the ABS's figures, $'000 shown in dollars.

The file: act-rents-interim.json

The 10 limits this file states
  • Interim, and not like the other states' rents files: no figure here is a rent of new bonds lodged in a quarter, an advertised rent, or what a home rents for today.
  • The Census figures are of Census night, 2021-08-10 (10 August 2021), more than five years old: the median weekly rent paid by households renting a private dwelling on Census night who stated their rent, on new and old leases alike (the ABS leaves out 'Visitors only' and 'Other non-classifiable' households and dwellings 'Occupied rent-free'). Rents have moved since; the 2026 Census, when the ABS releases it, will replace them.
  • Every landlord is in the Census median: a real estate agent or a private person (the private market), a state or territory housing authority or a community housing provider (social housing, whose rents are usually set below the market), and what the Census calls 'other landlord type' (residential parks, and employers, Defence Housing Australia among them). Where few households rent privately the median can sit far below a market rent. The three census_2021_*_landlord_share_pct fields, calculated by DwellDelta, give each group's share of the renting households G40 counts under a stated landlord type - the sum of its five landlord-type cells, so the three add to 100 but for rounding (null where that sum, or G40's count of renting households less those whose landlord type is not stated, is under 20). A postal area where under 50% rent privately is flagged mostly_not_private_rentals (null where there is no share) - do not quote its median as a market rent. In this file: 2609.
  • The ABS adjusts every Census count slightly at random to protect confidentiality. A postal area whose median rests on fewer than 30 renting households who stated their rent, or that has no median, is flagged small_census_sample.
  • Postal areas are the ABS's approximations of postcodes, placed in a state by their number. The ABS lists the ones that cross a border: 2611, 2618, whose figures take in the whole postal area across the border (crosses_border says which states).
  • The rents index (cpi_rents) measures CHANGE in what tenants pay in Canberra, across new and continuing leases; it is not a dollar rent and its level means nothing alone. Its monthly series begins July 2022, after Census night, so it cannot carry a 2021 rent forward to today, and nothing in this file does: no current rent is estimated.
  • The dwelling prices are median SALE prices of the homes transferred in the June 2026 quarter, for Canberra as a whole - not rents, no suburb or postcode, and not a mean price. The ABS revises recent quarters in later releases; the file names the release it read.
  • Do not divide one figure by another: the rents are of August 2021 and the prices of the June 2026 quarter, so no rental yield can be read from this file.
  • DwellDelta is not connected with, sponsored by or endorsed by the Australian Bureau of Statistics.
  • Information, not financial or tenancy advice.

The Australian Capital Territory page

Northern Territory (interim, ABS data)

ABS data

Based on Australian Bureau of Statistics data. ABS data used with permission from the Australian Bureau of Statistics. Census of Population and Housing 2021, General Community Profile DataPack, Postal Areas, tables G02 and G40 (accessed 2026-09-22); Consumer Price Index, Australia (6401.0), Table 10, release sep-2026; Total Value of Dwellings (6432.0), Table 2, release jun-quarter-2026. Licensed under CC BY 4.0: https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/. www.abs.gov.au

What DwellDelta changed: Selected by DwellDelta: the G02 median weekly rent for each Northern Territory postal area as the ABS publishes it (0, where the ABS gives no median, is null here), and G40's count of renting households. Calculated by DwellDelta from G40: renting households who stated their rent; the three landlord shares (census_2021_private_landlord_share_pct, census_2021_social_landlord_share_pct and census_2021_other_landlord_share_pct), each of the sum of G40's five landlord-type cells; and the two flags, mostly_not_private_rentals and small_census_sample, which are DwellDelta's own marks, not the ABS's. From CPI Table 10: the year change and the change since the series began, calculated from the ABS's index. From Total Value of Dwellings Table 2: the ABS's figures, $'000 shown in dollars.

The file: nt-rents-interim.json

The 10 limits this file states
  • Interim, and not like the other states' rents files: no figure here is a rent of new bonds lodged in a quarter, an advertised rent, or what a home rents for today.
  • The Census figures are of Census night, 2021-08-10 (10 August 2021), more than five years old: the median weekly rent paid by households renting a private dwelling on Census night who stated their rent, on new and old leases alike (the ABS leaves out 'Visitors only' and 'Other non-classifiable' households and dwellings 'Occupied rent-free'). Rents have moved since; the 2026 Census, when the ABS releases it, will replace them.
  • Every landlord is in the Census median: a real estate agent or a private person (the private market), a state or territory housing authority or a community housing provider (social housing, whose rents are usually set below the market), and what the Census calls 'other landlord type' (residential parks, and employers, Defence Housing Australia among them). Where few households rent privately the median can sit far below a market rent. The three census_2021_*_landlord_share_pct fields, calculated by DwellDelta, give each group's share of the renting households G40 counts under a stated landlord type - the sum of its five landlord-type cells, so the three add to 100 but for rounding (null where that sum, or G40's count of renting households less those whose landlord type is not stated, is under 20). A postal area where under 50% rent privately is flagged mostly_not_private_rentals (null where there is no share) - do not quote its median as a market rent. In this file: 0822, 0829, 0845, 0846, 0847, 0852, 0853, 0854, 0860, 0862, 0872, 0875, 0880, 0885, 0886.
  • The ABS adjusts every Census count slightly at random to protect confidentiality. A postal area whose median rests on fewer than 30 renting households who stated their rent, or that has no median, is flagged small_census_sample.
  • Postal areas are the ABS's approximations of postcodes, placed in a state by their number. The ABS lists the ones that cross a border: 0872, whose figures take in the whole postal area across the border (crosses_border says which states); 4825, allocated to another state, takes in part of the Northern Territory and is not in this file.
  • The rents index (cpi_rents) measures CHANGE in what tenants pay in Darwin, across new and continuing leases; it is not a dollar rent and its level means nothing alone. Its monthly series begins July 2022, after Census night, so it cannot carry a 2021 rent forward to today, and nothing in this file does: no current rent is estimated. The rents index is for Darwin only, not the rest of the Northern Territory; the prices are given for both.
  • The dwelling prices are median SALE prices of the homes transferred in the June 2026 quarter, for Darwin and for the rest of the Northern Territory, each as a whole - not rents, no suburb or postcode, and not a mean price. The ABS revises recent quarters in later releases; the file names the release it read.
  • Do not divide one figure by another: the rents are of August 2021 and the prices of the June 2026 quarter, so no rental yield can be read from this file.
  • DwellDelta is not connected with, sponsored by or endorsed by the Australian Bureau of Statistics.
  • Information, not financial or tenancy advice.

The Northern Territory page

Tasmania (ABS data)

ABS data

Based on Australian Bureau of Statistics data. ABS data used with permission from the Australian Bureau of Statistics. Census of Population and Housing 2021, General Community Profile DataPack, Postal Areas, tables G02 and G40 (accessed 2026-09-22); Consumer Price Index, Australia (6401.0), Table 10, release sep-2026; Total Value of Dwellings (6432.0), Table 2, release jun-quarter-2026. Licensed under CC BY 4.0: https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/. www.abs.gov.au

What DwellDelta changed: Selected by DwellDelta: the G02 median weekly rent for each Tasmania postal area as the ABS publishes it (0, where the ABS gives no median, is null here), and G40's count of renting households. Calculated by DwellDelta from G40: renting households who stated their rent; the three landlord shares (census_2021_private_landlord_share_pct, census_2021_social_landlord_share_pct and census_2021_other_landlord_share_pct), each of the sum of G40's five landlord-type cells; and the two flags, mostly_not_private_rentals and small_census_sample, which are DwellDelta's own marks, not the ABS's. From CPI Table 10: the year change and the change since the series began, calculated from the ABS's index. From Total Value of Dwellings Table 2: the ABS's figures, $'000 shown in dollars.

The file: tas-rents-interim.json

The 10 limits this file states
  • Interim, and not like the other states' rents files: no figure here is a rent of new bonds lodged in a quarter, an advertised rent, or what a home rents for today.
  • The Census figures are of Census night, 2021-08-10 (10 August 2021), more than five years old: the median weekly rent paid by households renting a private dwelling on Census night who stated their rent, on new and old leases alike (the ABS leaves out 'Visitors only' and 'Other non-classifiable' households and dwellings 'Occupied rent-free'). Rents have moved since; the 2026 Census, when the ABS releases it, will replace them.
  • Every landlord is in the Census median: a real estate agent or a private person (the private market), a state or territory housing authority or a community housing provider (social housing, whose rents are usually set below the market), and what the Census calls 'other landlord type' (residential parks, and employers, Defence Housing Australia among them). Where few households rent privately the median can sit far below a market rent. The three census_2021_*_landlord_share_pct fields, calculated by DwellDelta, give each group's share of the renting households G40 counts under a stated landlord type - the sum of its five landlord-type cells, so the three add to 100 but for rounding (null where that sum, or G40's count of renting households less those whose landlord type is not stated, is under 20). A postal area where under 50% rent privately is flagged mostly_not_private_rentals (null where there is no share) - do not quote its median as a market rent. In this file: 7255.
  • The ABS adjusts every Census count slightly at random to protect confidentiality. A postal area whose median rests on fewer than 30 renting households who stated their rent, or that has no median, is flagged small_census_sample.
  • Postal areas are the ABS's approximations of postcodes, placed in a state by their number. No postal area of Tasmania crosses a border, by the ABS's list of those that do.
  • The rents index (cpi_rents) measures CHANGE in rents paid for the same homes in Hobart, on new and continuing leases, private and public housing, net of Rent Assistance; it is not a dollar rent and its level means nothing alone. The monthly series in this file begins July 2022, after Census night, so it cannot carry a 2021 rent forward to today, and nothing in this file does: no current rent is estimated. The rents index is for Hobart only, not the rest of Tasmania; the prices are given for both.
  • The dwelling prices are median SALE prices of the homes transferred in the June 2026 quarter, for Hobart and for the rest of Tasmania, each as a whole - not rents, no suburb or postcode, and not a mean price. The ABS revises recent quarters in later releases; the file names the release it read.
  • Do not divide one figure by another: the rents are of August 2021 and the prices of the June 2026 quarter, so no rental yield can be read from this file.
  • DwellDelta is not connected with, sponsored by or endorsed by the Australian Bureau of Statistics.
  • Information, not financial or tenancy advice.

The Tasmania ABS page

Not endorsed

DwellDelta is not connected with, sponsored by or endorsed by any government or agency named here.